YALSA – 2012 Great Graphic Novels for Teens

Each year a committee of the Young Adult Library Services Association (YALSA), a division of the American Library Association (ALA), recommends books for those ages 12-18 that meet the criteria of both good quality literature and appealing reading for teens. This year (2012), the list of 56 titles, drawn from 78 official nominations, is presented at the ALA Midwinter Meeting. “This year’s list reflects the wide range of graphic novels available for teens,” said Chairwoman Joy Kim. “From kung-fu epics to ghost stories to memoirs, this year’s selected titles represent many genres, styles, and sequential art traditions. We hope librarians, teens, and graphic novel aficionados will find this to be a valuable resource.”
Source: http://www.ala.org/yalsa. All rights reserved.

This particular collection includes selected books of YALSA’s Great Graphic Novels for Teens of 2012.

more

Scarlet, Book 1 (2011)

Written by Brian Michael Bendis

Illustrated by Alex Maleev

The award winning, best-selling powerhouse creative team behind Daredevil, Halo, and The Avengers unleashes its boldest project yet! Scarlet! This is the comic experience of the year! The first creator-owned series by one of the most successful teams in all of modern comics.

Scarlet is the story of a woman pushed to the edge by all that is wrong with the world. A woman who will not back down. A woman who discovers within herself the power to start a modern American revolution! 

In the vein of Alias, Powers and Jinx, Scarlet debuts a fascinating new comics character who, with every issue, reveals new things about herself against a completely original backdrop of intrigue and drama. (Copyright © Marvel. All rights reserved.)

Source:  Marvel Worldwide Inc.

Close

Select Version you want to order