CILIP Carnegie Medal Awardees

The Carnegie Medal in Literature is awarded annually to the writer of an outstanding book for children in the U.K. It was established in 1936, in memory of the great Scottish-born philanthropist, Andrew Carnegie. This award is U.K.'s oldest and most prestigious book award for children's writing. The medal is awarded by CILIP: the Chartered Institute of Library and Information Professionals.
Source: All rights reserved.

This particular collection includes some notable winners of Carnegie Medal and shortlisted books from the year 1987 to 2012.


Private Peaceful (2003)

Written by Michael Morpurgo

As the enemy lurks in the darkness, young Thomas Peaceful struggles to stay awake keeping watch through the long night, remembering his childhood spent deep in the English countryside with his mother, his brothers, and Molly, the love of his life. He has lived through the terror of gas attacks and watched friends die by his side. But in the morning, Thomas will be forced to confront an even greater horror. Why did he lie about his age to fight in World War I? He used to know the answer. Now, he's not sure, and all he can think about is, will anyone make it out of this alive?

Michael Morpurgo's riveting wartime novel follows the fortunes of a unique hero who uses memory to endure the unendurable as he finds himself swept up in the terrifying tide of human history. This is historical fiction at its best. This book is recommended for young adults ages 13 and up. (Copyright © Scholastic Press. All rights reserved.)

Source:  Scholastic Inc.


Select Version you want to order