Printz Awardees

The Michael L. Printz Award annually honors the best book written for teens, based entirely on its literary merit, each year. In addition, the Printz Committee names up to four honor books, which also represent the best writing in young adult literature. The awards announcement is made at the ALA Midwinter Meeting as part of the Youth Media Awards. The award's namesake was a school librarian in Topeka, Kansas, and a marketing consultant for Econo-Clad, as well an active member of YALSA. The Michael L. Printz Award was first awarded in 2000. The award is sponsored by Booklist, a publication of the American Library Association (ALA), and administered by the Young Adult Library Services Association (YALSA).
Source: All rights reserved.

This particular collection includes some notable winners of Printz Award and Honor Books from the year 2000 to 2012.


Please Ignore Vera Dietz (2010)

Written by A. S. King

Vera’s spent her whole life secretly in love with her best friend, Charlie Kahn. And over the years she’s kept a lot of his secrets. Even after he betrayed her. Even after he ruined everything.

So when Charlie dies in dark circumstances, Vera knows a lot more than anyone—the kids at school, his family, even the police. But will she emerge to clear his name? Does she even want to?

Edgy and gripping, Please Ignore Vera Dietz is an unforgettable novel: smart, funny, dramatic, and always surprising. This book is recommended for young adults ages 14 and up. (Copyright © Knopf Books for Young Readers/Random House. All rights reserved.)

Source:  Penguin Random House Company.

A.S. (Amy Sarig) King is best known for her award-winning young adult novels, though she writes novel-length and short fiction for adults as well. 

King's YA novel, I Crawl Through It (2015) received an A rating from Entertainment Weekly and landed on some pretty cool end of year lists.  Her book, Glory O'Brien's History of the Future (2014) was garnered seven starred trade reviews, an Andre Norton finalist, an ALA Best Book of 2014, and won the Amelia Elizabeth Walden Award.  Reality Boy (2013) was a New York Times Editors' Choice, a Publishers Weekly, Kirkus Reviews and School Library Journal Best Book of 2013.  Ask the Passengers (2012) is a Los Angeles Times Book Prize Winner, a Kirkus Reviews, Publishers Weekly and School Library Journal Best Book of 2012 and has been called "Another thoughtful, and often breathtaking achievement" by Booklist in one of six starred trade reviews for the book.  Everybody Sees the Ants (2011) was an Andre Norton Award finalist, a Cybils finalist, and a 2012 YALSA Top Ten book for young adults.  Her 2010 YA novel, Please Ignore Vera Dietz (2010) was a 2011 Michael L. Printz Honor Book, an Edgar Award Nominee, and a YALSA Best Fiction for Young Adults pick.  Her first young adult novel, The Dust of 100 Dogs (2009) was an ALA Best Book for Young Adults, an Indie Next pick and a Cybil award finalist.  Her short fiction collection for adults, Monica Never Shuts Up, has been widely published and was nominated for Best New American Voices 2010.

After more than a decade in Ireland dividing herself between self-sufficiency, restoring her farm, teaching adult literacy, and writing novels, King returned to the US in 2004. She now lives in Pennsylvania with her family.



Select Version you want to order