CILIP Carnegie Medal Awardees

The Carnegie Medal in Literature is awarded annually to the writer of an outstanding book for children in the U.K. It was established in 1936, in memory of the great Scottish-born philanthropist, Andrew Carnegie. This award is U.K.'s oldest and most prestigious book award for children's writing. The medal is awarded by CILIP: the Chartered Institute of Library and Information Professionals.
Source: All rights reserved.

This particular collection includes some notable winners of Carnegie Medal and shortlisted books from the year 1987 to 2012.


Monsters of Men (2010)

Written by Patrick Ness

In the riveting conclusion to the acclaimed dystopian series, a boy and girl caught in the chaos of war face devastating choices that will decide the fate of a world.

As a world-ending war surges around them, Todd and Viola face monstrous decisions. The indigenous Spackle, thinking and acting as one, have mobilized to avenge their murdered people. Ruthless human leaders prepare to defend their factions at all costs, even as a convoy of new settlers approaches. And as the ceaseless Noise lays all thoughts bare, the projected will of the few threatens to overwhelm the desperate desire of the many.

The consequences of each action, each word, are unspeakably vast: To follow a tyrant or a terrorist? To save the life of the one you love most, or thousands of strangers? To believe in redemption, or assume it is lost? Becoming adults amid the turmoil, Todd and Viola question all they have known, racing through horror and outrage toward a shocking finale. This book is recommended for young adults ages 14 and up. (Copyright © Candlewick/Random House. All rights reserved.)

Source:  Penguin Random House Company.

Patrick Ness was born in the US in 1971, living in the western states of Hawaii, Washington and California, before moving to England in 1999.

He studied English Literature at the University of Southern California, and worked as a corporate writer at a cable company, before the publication of his first novel, The Crash of Hennington, in 2003. His second book was a collection of short stories, Topics About Which I Know Nothing (2004).

In 2008, he published the first in his 'Chaos Walking' trilogy for young adults, The Knife of Never Letting Go. It is set in a dystopian world where everyone can hear everyone else's thoughts. This book won the 2008 Guardian Children's Fiction Prize and the Booktrust Teenage Prize, and was shortlisted for the 2009 Carnegie Medal. In 2009, the second book in the trilogy, The Ask and the Answer, won the Costa Children's Book Award. The third book, Monsters of Men, was published in 2010.

Patrick Ness has taught Creative Writing at Oxford University, and written journalism and criticism for the Sunday Telegraph, the Daily Telegraph, and the Times Literary Supplement. He currently reviews books for The Guardian. He has also been a Fellow of the Royal Literary Fund, and in 2009 was the first Writer in Residence for Booktrust.

For more information on Patrick Ness and his works, visit his website at


Select Version you want to order