CILIP Carnegie Medal Awardees

The Carnegie Medal in Literature is awarded annually to the writer of an outstanding book for children in the U.K. It was established in 1936, in memory of the great Scottish-born philanthropist, Andrew Carnegie. This award is U.K.'s oldest and most prestigious book award for children's writing. The medal is awarded by CILIP: the Chartered Institute of Library and Information Professionals.
Source: All rights reserved.

This particular collection includes some notable winners of Carnegie Medal and shortlisted books from the year 1987 to 2012.


Kit's Wilderness (1999)

Written by David Almond

Written in haunting, lyrical prose, Kit’s Wilderness examines the bonds of family from one generation to the next, and explores how meaning and beauty can be revealed from the depths of darkness.

The Watson family moves to Stoneygate, an old coal-mining town, to care for Kit’s recently widowed grandfather. When Kit meets John Askew, another boy whose family has both worked and died in the mines, Askew invites Kit to join him in playing a game called Death.

As Kit’s grandfather tells him stories of the mine’s past and the history of the Watson family, Askew takes Kit into the mines, where the boys look to find the childhood ghosts of their long-gone ancestors. This book is recommended for young adults ages 12 and up. (Copyright © Delacorte Books for Young Readers/Random House. All rights reserved.)

Source:  Penguin Random House Company.

David Almond was born on May 15, 1951. He is a British author who has written several novels children or young adults from 1998, each one to critical acclaim. He is one of thirty children's writers, and one of three from the U.K., to win the biennial, international Hans Christian Andersen Award. For the 70th anniversary of the British Carnegie Medal in Literature in 2007, his debut novel Skellig (1998) was named one of the top ten Medal-winning works, selected by a panel to compose the ballot for a public election of the all-time favourite. It ranked third in the public vote from that shortlist. He started out as an author of adult fiction, and his stories appeared in many little magazines, including Iron, Stand, London Magazine, Edinburgh Review.

His first short story collection Sleepless Nights, was published by iron Press in 1985. His second, A Kind of Heaven, appeared in 1987. He then wrote a series of stories which drew on his own childhood, and which would eventually be published as Counting Stars, published by Hodder in 2001. These stories led directly to his first novel, Skellig (1998), set in Newcastle. In the next seven years, four more novels by Almond made the Carnegie Medal shortlist of five to eight books. His works are highly philosophical and thus appeal to children and adults alike. Recurring themes throughout include the complex relationships between apparent opposites (such as life and death, reality and fiction, past and future); forms of education; growing up and adapting to change; the nature of the "self".

For more information on David Almond and his works, visit his website at


Select Version you want to order