Newbery Medal Awardees

The Newbery Medal is awarded annually by the Association for Library Service to Children, a division of the American Library Association, to the author of the most distinguished contribution to American literature for children published the previous year. It was named for eighteenth-century British bookseller John Newbery. The Newbery Award thus became the first children's book award in the world. Its terms, as well as its long history, continue to make it the best known and most discussed children's book award in this country.
Source: All rights reserved.

This particular collection includes some notable winners of Newbery Medal and Honor Books from the year 1987 to 2012.


A Single Shard (2001)

Written by Linda Sue Park

In this Newbery Medal-winning book set in 12th century Korea, Tree-ear, a 13-year-old orphan, lives under a bridge in Ch’ulp’o, a potters' village famed for delicate celadon ware. He has become fascinated with the potter’s craft; he wants nothing more than to watch master potter Min at work, and he dreams of making a pot of his own someday. When Min takes Tree-ear on as his helper, Tree-ear is elated—until he finds obstacles in his path: the backbreaking labor of digging and hauling clay, Min’s irascible temper, and his own ignorance.

But Tree-ear is determined to prove himself—even if it means taking a long, solitary journey on foot to present Min’s work in the hope of a royal commission . . . even if it means arriving at the royal court with nothing to show but a single celadon shard. This book is recommended for preteens ages 10 and up. (Copyright © Clarion Books/Houghton Mifflin Harcourt. All rights reserved.)

Source:  Houghton Mifflin Harcourt Publishing Company.

Linda Sue Park was born on March 25, 1960. He is an American author of children's fiction. Park has been writing poetry and stories since the age of four. Park published her first poem when she was nine years old for Trailblazer magazine. Through elementary and high school, she continued to publish poems in magazines for children and young people. Park competed on the gymnastics team at Stanford University and graduated with a high degree in English. She also obtained advanced degrees in literature from Trinity College in Ireland and also from the University of London. Park published her first novel, Seesaw Girl, in 1999. Park writes historical fiction. With the exception of three picture books and two novels, all of Park’s books center upon Korean history and Korean culture.

Her first three novels, Seesaw Girl, The Kite Fighters, and A Single Shard are set in ancient or medieval Korea. However, her fourth novel, When My Name Was Keoko, is about the more recent history of Japanese occupation of Korea during World War II. She has written six children’s novels and five picture books. Park’s work achieved prominence when she received the prestigious 2002 Newbery Medal for her novel A Single Shard. She has written the ninth book in the 39 Clues series, Storm Warning, published on May 25, 2010.

For more information on Linda Sue Park and her works, visit her website at


Select Version you want to order